Don’t Blame Paula Deen

America is obsessed with high fat and sugary foods. Why? Because they taste good. But is Paula Deen to blame for people’s bad eating habits? No. In the January 25th issue of the  Kansas City Star, Columnist Jenee’ Osterheldt reminds us that we are responsible for what we put in our bodies.

I’ll be the first to admit, I love Paula Deen. She seems very friendly and down to earth. I’m completely impressed with the way she overcame panic attacks and agoraphobia to become one of America’s most recognizable celebrity chefs on television. With just $200 she started a catering business from her home. I think, I also read somewhere her cooking helped her escape an abusive marriage. Rock on!

Is it any of our business that Paula Deen did not disclose she was diabetic until a few weeks ago? Not really. It’s a personal matter and how many of us want to share our personal medical histories? Did eating unhealthy contribute to her becoming diabetic? Perhaps. But let’s be honest, how many of us do things that we know aren’t good for us? Smoking. Not working out daily. Not going to the doctor on a regular basis. We are all guilty of some sort of unhealthy habit that we know we need to change.

I’ll be the first to admit, I have never baked a Paula Deen dish. Why? Because I know butter, heavy whipping cream, oil, bacon aren’t good for me. But I do own Paula Deen knives and a cast iron skillet – she makes great cookware. Do I eat super healthy? No. Do I try to eat healthier using less fatty foods and adding vegetables to my dishes? Yes. I also try to limit my eating out because I know cooking for myself is healthier. I am also trying to get back into my workout routine.

My point to this article is that my blog will contain some “not so healthy” dishes. If you so desire to bake these recipes, I would encourage you to do them in moderation. And don’t blame me if you gain a few pounds.

This recipe I would call a “comfort food” dish. My mother used to bake Hamburger Casserole for my family as far back as I have memories. (In fact, I’m pretty sure I missed out on a few Flavor Ice pops back in the day because I picked out the onion rings.) I assumed every Midwestern family made this recipe. While talking with a co-worker a few months ago, she was telling me how she downloaded a “Tater-tot casserole” from the Dugger’s website. (Yes, the 18 Kids and Counting family). She loved the dish. That’s when it occurred to, perhaps not everyone tried this dish or maybe your mother’s cooked it a little bit differently.

Hamburger Casserole

1 pound ground beef

1 can cream of celery soup

1 can cheddar cheese soup

1/2 package of tater-tots (I like the mini-kind)

Spread uncooked meat into the bottom of a 8 x 8 square dish. Cover with tater-tots. Spread cream of celery over mixture. Top with cheddar cheese soup. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

Recipe modifications:

  • You can use fat-free or healthy request soups and 93% lean ground beef.
  • My mother sometimes used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of celery. It’s your preference or what you have in the cupboard.
  • My mom also liked to top the tater tots with onion rings. You could do this or add onions to the recipe.
  • You can also make this in a 9 x 13 dish. It just means your pieces won’t be as thick. I’m single so I prefer to make it in a 8 x 8 so I don’t have to eat it for several days.

As always, I would love to hear your feedback on issues or the recipe presented in this post.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Bread Bowl | midwestsimple

  2. Pingback: Crock Pot Chicken Casserole | midwestsimple

  3. Pingback: We Survived! | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

