More cheese please!

I’m feeling a little under the weather today so I decided to try a new soup recipe. One of my favorite soups is the Overloaded Potato Soup at O’Charley’s. Unfortunately, we no longer have locations in the Kansas City metro area. I looked online for a copy cat recipe. The result was a kitchen disaster that had to be thrown out.

While looking through my “Roostin’ in Wayne” cookbook, I discovered a recipe that might be similar to the soup I was craving. This cookbook was created in my hometown to commemorate the 125th anniversary of our town as well as honor our annual event “The Chicken Show”. If you are old enough to remember Johnny Carson hosting The Tonight Show, then perhaps you have seen some of “The Chicken Show” Cluck-off Champs. Last year, “The Chicken Show” was named one of the top hometown festivals by Parade magazine. This is a little plug because my aunt who works for the Wayne Area Economic Development. Irene was also on the Cookbook Planning Committee which brought this wonderful recipe into my life.

Cheesy Potato Soup by Nancy Braden

10 slices of bacon

¼ c. chopped onion

3 medium potatoes (cubed with skin on) or 3 c. frozen hash browns

¼ c. sour cream

1 ¾ c. milk

Parsley (optional)

Dash of pepper

1 can cream of chicken soup

¼ lb. Velveeta cheese

1 c. water

¼ tsp. salt

¼ c. finely chopped celery

Brown and crumble bacon. Saute onion in bacon grease. Add cubed potatoes, water, salt, and pepper. Simmer for 15 minutes until potatoes are done. Mix soup, cheese, sour cream, and milk together, and to mixture. Heat thoroughly. Serve with sprinkle of parsley on top (optional). Creator also notes you can use Hormel Real crumbled bacon and onion flakes if you don’t have much time.

Recipe modifications:

  • I reduced the amount of bacon. I put three slices in soup and garnished with a ½ piece. I baked the bacon in the oven so I did not have the extra grease in my dish. (But I think it would also be good even without any bacon.)
  • I used frozen potatoes and saved a bunch of time prepping this dish.
  • I used skim milk.
  • I doubled the amount of cheese (8 oz.).
  • I did not have onions or onion flakes so I used onion salt. It worked just as well. I think you might also consider using green onions.
  • I also omitted the celery because the O’Charley’s recipe did not have that in it.

My recommendation – I would add this to my recipe rotation. It’s a hearty dish on a cold, rainy night.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Top 10 | midwestsimple

  2. Pingback: We Survived! | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

