Pizza Anytime

Pizza is a treat everyone loves. Of course, pizza can come in many forms – homemade, frozen, fresh-to-oven, delivery, and gourmet. This tasty recipe can be made a little healthier. I also like it because it allows everyone to select their favorite toppings. I’ve made this for myself as well as for dinner parties. I just set out the ingredient options and let people pick. With personalized pizza, you can make vegetarian as well all meat options. One of the other reasons I like this recipe is because it allows you to make a breakfast or dinner pizza.

 Traditional Pizza

 English Muffins
Pizza Sauce
Shredded Mozzarella Cheese
Pizza Topping of your choice (Hamburger, pepperoni, Canadian bacon, mushrooms, onion, peppers, etc.)

Line a cookie sheet with foil. Split the English muffins in half and place on cookie sheet. Spread pizza sauce on muffin. Top with desired toppings. Sprinkle with cheese. Bake at 425 degrees for 6 minutes or until cheese is melted.

Recipe Modifications:

  • I like to use 100 calorie, light multi-grain Thomas English Muffins. I think they have a more natural crust taste plus they have 8 grams of fiber. They are more expensive at the grocery store than other brands but you can usually get a good deal on them at Sam’s Club.
  • My sister likes to substitute pita bread in this recipe.
  • I’ve also made Chicken Alfredo mini-pizzas. Just use a light Alfredo sauce (I like to make my own with Wildtree Alfredo Extraordinaire which can be made with skim milk for a much healthier and more flavorful sauce), grilled chicken breast chopped, spinach, and low-fat mozzarella cheese.
  • You can also make breakfast pizzas. I like diced ham, scrambled eggs, and cheddar cheese. Sometimes I add a little canned nacho cheese sauce to the base of the muffin for a little extra zing. If I was making this for my sister, I would make a scrambled egg white, diced bell peppers, and a touch of mozzarella cheese on top. I also think you could make this with thinly sliced ham, a poached egg, and slice of cheddar cheese. I think it would look like an eggs benedict but without the heavy hollandaise sauce on top.
Leave a Reply

