Make Ahead Dish

I just noticed I had a loaf of expired bread in my kitchen. Although it wasn’t moldy, it wasn’t as fresh as when I first purchased it. I hate throwing away food so I decided to try to find a recipe I could use it for. While looking for my soup recipe in “Roostin’ in Wayne” cookbook last week, I recalled seeing some breakfast casserole recipes that used several slices of bread. The name helped me pick this one as the new breakfast recipe to try. It’s “make-ahead” requirement means it’s simple for a busy morning.

Best Breakfast Casserole by Marie and Alissa Johnson In Loving Memory of Blanche Hamann

12 slices of bread
1 lb. Velveeta cheese
2 c. diced ham
1/2 c. melted butter
6 eggs, beaten
1 tsp. dry mustard
1/2 tsp. salt
4 c. milk

Break bread into small pieces and place in greased 9 x 13 baking dish. Cut cheese in cubes and place over bread. Sprinkle have over cheese and pour melt butter over mixture. Beat eggs with mustard, salt, and milk. Pour over all. Chill in fridge overnight. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour – until golden crust forms and is firm. Serves 12.

I thought it was a nice dish. Sometimes, eggs casseroles with bread can get dried out when you bake them because they don’t have enough liquid. That is not the case with this recipe. The casserole did drop a little bit (like a souffle) before I cut into it.

Recipe Modifications

  • I cut the recipe in half and cooked it in a 8 x 8 pan. I still baked it for one hour.
One response

Leave a Reply

