Thin Mints

It only happens one time a year – Girl Scout cookie sales. The combination of irresistible taste, limited availability, and the cuteness of our co-worker’s seven year old daughter making “the ask”. You have to buy at least one box, right?

When Girl Scouts start selling cookies, it takes me back to my own childhood. I grew-up in a small town called Wisner, NE. It’s a tiny town with about 1,000 people. My dad owned a service station (remember back when someone actually filled your tank, checked your oil, and washed your windows for you) and my mom was a homemaker/the station’s bookkeeper. It was the kind of town where I could go to the swimming pool all afternoon or for a bike ride by myself. The rule in our family was you just had to leave a note on the piano lamp so everyone knew where you were.

Our town didn’t start Brownies until 2nd grade and no one sold cookies until they were an actual Girl Scout (started in 4th grade). Since I know I was in scouting through the 8th grade, I guess I sold Girl Scout cookies for five years. Like I said, my dad owned a filling station so I’m sure you probably think I just gave him cookie sheet. Nope! My parents had a very strict rule, YOU had to do the selling. I have no idea how many boxes I actually sold but I remember the experience. And more importantly, I remember some of the fun things my troop got to do with the money we earned from selling cookies. We made this crazy claymation project, went to the Nutcracker ballet at Columbus High School, and even saw the Ice Capades at Aksarben (it’s Nebraska spelled backwards). Perhaps it’s where I learned my creativity and love of the arts.

Remember when Girl Scout cookies had fun names like Samoas, Tagalongs, and Do-si-dos? That’s because back in the day, Girl Scout troops all got their cookies from Little Brownie Bakers. When the demand for Girl Scout cookies increased, other companies now help meet the cookie demand. Until about two year’s ago, my cousin’s daughter was still selling the original Girl Scout cookies made by Little Brownie Bakers. Now, I’m not sure where they still distribute but you can enter your zip code on their website to see if they still sell within 50 miles of where you live. (Note – pictured above is a box of Thin Mints made by ABC Bakers/Interstate Foods – which is what the kids in the Kansas City area sell.)

Today’s new recipe I’m sampling is called “Thin Mint Brownies.” I got it from the Little Brownie Bakers’ website. Check it out for more get ideas of what you can do with their yummy treats. Remember, the $3.50 you spend on a box is an investment in young ladies of your community.

Thin Mint Brownies

1 shelve of crushed Thin Mint Cookies (1/2 a box)
1 box of brownie mix
2 eggs (3 eggs for cake-like brownies)
¼ c. water
½ c. oil

Prepare brownie mix in a medium bowl until fairly smooth. Stir in crushed cookies. Spread into a sprayed 13 x 9 pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 27-30 minutes. Remove from oven and cool before serving.

I think they turned out delicious.

Recipe Modifications

  • You can substitue plain yogurt or applesauce for the oil in the brownie mix. These are healthier options and they don’t really change the taste of the brownie.
  • This recipe is similar to other recipes I have made for mint brownies. If you don’t have Thin Mints, you can substitute chopped  pieces of mini Hershey mint candy bars (available at Christmas time) or crushed Keebler Grasshopper cookies for a similar minty/textured brownie. I have also made mint brownie by placing York Pepperment Patties in the boottom of my backing dish. If you do this though, the flavor will be really minty and your will get air bubbles in you brownie. 
One response

  1. Amber~This was an awesome “article”. I truly enjoyed reminiscing back to the Wisner, girl scout days. 🙂 I’m going to make these for Brock tomorrow since he loves mint chocolate. I’m very impressed with your blog~keep it up! ~Love your favorite (okay, only) sister

Leave a Reply

