Don’t Give Up

Let’s be honest, we all know we need to work out. But sometimes we make excuses for why we don’t go to the gym. I’m busy. I’m tired. The list goes on and on. After five years of practicing yoga twice a week religiously, I found out last May my yoga teacher would no longer be teaching my class. The saddest part about the whole thing was that she had to stop teaching the class because she couldn’t afford the vehicle expenses to continuing driving 30 minutes each way to teach our class. I loved that yoga class – the teacher, my fellow yoginis, and the way I felt participating in the class. The place where I practiced decided to cancel the course instead of searching for a new teacher. That was really hard for me because our class was called “Yoga Just for You.” It was designed for larger women because ANYONE can practice yoga. It took me a long time to figure out what to do with my free time on Tuesday and Thursday nights. But it took me even longer to accept my class was over and I would need to search for a new yoga teacher if I wanted to continue.

In December, I used a Groupon to check out a studio in Overland Park. I couldn’t find a teacher whose style really fit me and got frustrated by all the skinny people who could move their bodies in ways in simple could not. I gave up and walked away once again.

Last week, I found the motivation I needed to return to the gym. I was angry and frustrated with things in my life. I, not a super religious person, prayed for guidance before I went to bed. When I awoke early that morning, I knew where I needed to go – the gym. At 5:45AM, I put on my workout clothes, grabbed my iPod, and heading to the Y. I felt great! I even managed to do it again the following morning.

The saddest part is I have had a membership at the Y for five and half years. And I’ll be honest, I come and go from working out on a regular basis. I have no accountability for going. I don’t even get super mad about paying the month membership fee when I miss for months at a time. The Y is a nonprofit that makes a healthy lifestyle accessible to all by offering a sliding fee scale. My membership fees were helping offset the expenses of others.

So what is my motivation to keep at this time? Who will make me be accountable this time? It’s going to have to be me. I have to make myself and feeling good a priority. I may never be skinny but I can exercise for my health – mental and physical. I also have someone else who is going to keep on me – a Y employee. There is an older gentlemen at my Y that works most mornings. I don’t know his name but he has been working at this location since I started working out at it three years ago. He recognized me Friday morning. He said, “I haven’t seen you in awhile.” I told him that’s because I hadn’t been in awhile. On my way out, he said to me, “I’ll be here Monday morning. I hope to you see you then, Amber.” It worked. He knew my name and he made sure I know he was going to be looking for me. I’m going back Monday morning.

My recipe today is for all my friends battling to be healthier. I hope this dessert helps you stick with your weight loss goals. I got this recipe from an old co-worker at SAFEHOME who was participating in Weight Watchers.

Orange Fluff

1 box of Orange Sugar Free Jello
1 c. of hot water
1 box of White Chocolate Sugar Free Pudding
1 small can of mandarin oranges, drained (look for one without or light syrup)
1 tub of Sugar Free Cool Whip

Mix Jello and hot water to dissolve. Cool. Add Pudding and whisk. It will start to thicken. Add oranges. Fold in whipped topping. Refrigerate until firm. The best part is that the entire recipe is only 2 Weight Watchers points.

Don’t like orange? Switch it to your favorite fruit and matching Jello flavor. I’ve tried this with strawberries and it was delicious.

4 responses

  1. Amber, thanks for reminding me the importance of addressing people by name. I have such a hard time remembering names, but I appreciate it when some one calls me by name, even if sometimes it is Eileen!

  2. Pingback: Nine Must Have Thanksgiving Recipes | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

