Social Suppers

About a year ago, I saw a Groupon for a place called Social Suppers. It’s one of those places where you prepare a bunch of meals and take them with you. I’m sure you have heard of them, they aren’t a new idea. I had always wanted to try one and this gave me an excellent excuse – 50% off. I bought the Groupon. Unable to get a friend to schedule a time to go with me, I scheduled my own prep time.

I bought my Groupon for the Prairie Village location. The first time I went was an evening just before Christmas. The place was packed. One family had everyone assembling dishes – with a step stool pulled up to the counter for even the youngest to participate. Others were cooking solo like me.

 The set-up is a lot like a kitchen (for anyone who has ever worked in a professional kitchen). You start by hanging up your coat, putting on an apron, and washing your hands. They have islands with counter space, cold prep items directly in front of you, refrigerators for meat/larger items below, and Ziplocs/recipes on the top shelf. The recipes have a full serving (feeds six) and half serving (feeds three) versions in different colors so you know which one to use. Each side of the island has two or three recipes that you can prepare with the ingredients available to you. Most dishes can be mixed and stored in the baggies. When you are finished, you place a sticker on the outside of the freezer bag with cooking instructions.

 After my first session, you could say I was hooked. Here are some of the reasons I love this Social Supper location.

  • Jennifer, Jill, and their staff are so friendly.
  • They give you a 10% discount if you book an appointment for the following month. You can make as many dishes as you want – no minimum.
  • I can make a month’s worth of meals in about an hour. Plus, they all fit in the little freezer at the top of my fridge.
  • I’m not wasting food. I use the little amount I need for a recipe and others use the rest.
  • I’m eating more veggies. I’m trying things I never would dream of cooking with at home – like Jalapenos. Plus, their staff has done all the prep work – no cutting yourself with a knife by accident.  
  • Every dish is loaded with flavor – they know what ingredients complement each other perfectly.
  • Great recipes. Plus, I know which ones are healthier ones because they tell me when I place my order.
  • I can make three servings. That’s just about all a single person wants to eat before they are tired of a dish.
  • They actually have the half serving on a recipe card. The measure tools are designed for both sets of recipes. No guessing and no division (even though I am excellent at math).
  • Portion control – I know the dish has three serving. I eat what just one serving is.
  • Little trash.
  • No dishes to wash. (I hate washing dishes.)
  • The cost is much cheaper than eating out. It is pretty comparable to buying groceries for the month.
  • I can cook a health, delicious meal in about 25 minutes. Plus, I have leftovers for two more meals.
  • I can ask someone what the recipe taste like or how popular it is with their customers.
  • They usually provide me with samples during my session.
  • They have a fridge full of prepared meals. You don’t even have to do the work, if you don’t want to.
  • This a great way to make a dish for someone who is battling cancer or lost a loved one. So easy and no messy clean up for them whenever their family is ready to eat the dish.

Have I given you enough reasons to check it out? Visit their website to see what dishes are available for the next two months and schedule an appointment today. It’s a great place to go alone or with a group of friends for a girl’s night out.

Today’s recipe is for Canyon Chicken. I first made this recipe at Social Suppers. I loved it but I didn’t have the exact recipe. I tried to recreate it from memory and it turned out just as good. I have made it for my mother, sister, nephew, and a friend who also liked it. I hope you enjoy it just as much as we all did.

 Canyon Chicken by Social Suppers

1 # Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast
Soy Sauce
2 Slices of Bacon, cooked & cut into pieces
Liquid Ranch Dressing
Cheddar Cheese
Chopped Parsley

Marinade chicken in soy sauce for 30 minutes. Place into baking dish. In a baggie, combine cheese, bacon, and parsley. Coat with just enough ranch dressing to moisten ingredients. Spoon 1 T. onto each piece of chicken. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 30 minutes.

Note: I used low sodium bacon and soy sauce. I also used fat free cheese and dressing.

Suggested Sides: I like to serve this dish with Betty Crocker Sour Cream and Chive Potatoes. I think asparagus would also be an excellent side.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Top 10 | midwestsimple

  2. Pingback: Bacon-Cheddar Pinwheels | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

