Oreo Balls

I few years ago, my sister made Oreo Balls for Christmas. I couldn’t stop eating them on Christmas Eve at my Aunt Linda’s house. I asked for my sister for the recipe. The first time I made them it was a complete disaster. I tried to melt the almond bark on the stovetop but it was difficult to work with. I also had put the cookie mix in the fridge for about 30 minutes. They weren’t cold enough and they were falling apart in almond bark. I thought to myself, NEVER AGAIN!

Sometime after that, I received a copy of the “What’s for Supper?” cookbook from St. Joseph Catholic School PTA. I saw recipe for Oreo Balls that sounded like it might work a little better. Armed with the knowledge I gained from Guy at a Taste of Home Cooking School about breaking off the two middle prongs on a plastic fork to make truffles, I decided to give it another try. Recipe success!

Oreo Balls by Tricia and Ryan Geris

1 package of Oreo cookies
1 (8 oz.) package of cream cheese (I use the 1/3 less fat kind)
1 package of white almond bark

Soften cream cheese. Crush Oreo cookies in a food processor to crumbles. In a bowl, fold cookies into cream cheese until no crumbs remain. Take a small amount of mixture and roll in your palm into a 1 inch ball. Place on a cookie sheet covered in wax paper. Once you have used the entire mixture rolled, place cookie sheet in freezer for 45 minutes. Remove. To melt, place almond bark in a microwave safe bowl and cook according to the package instructions. Use plastic fork to drip balls into bark. Coat completely and remove from almond bark. Return to wax paper covered baking sheet. Store in the fridge until you are ready to eat.

Decorating options: Top with colored sprinkles. I also saw a picture where they added a mini-Oreo to the top and decorated with a face. The idea was to look like a melting snowman.

Leave a Reply

