Nacho Cheese

Remember when you were a kid and your family went to a baseball game – what was your favorite concession stand food? For me, I always loved nachos. I’m not talking about the fancy kind with meat, tomatoes, and sour cream. I loved the salty chips in a plastic container with the partitioned off nacho cheese. I’m not sure what the cheese made out of or exactly why it squirts out so easy of metal container when they push a button down. But truth be told, I don’t care. It’s addictive!

At one time, I used to buy it in the deli case at Hy-Vee. It went perfectly with mini tacos (those one you get in the freezer section at the grocery store). Then suddenly, Hy-Vee stopped carrying it. Frustrated because I couldn’t figure where to buy it, one of my friends pointed out it was probably came out of a can. While grocery shopping with my mother during a visit to Nebraska, I saw a can of nacho cheese. (The beauty of small town grocery stores is they are small enough you can look closely at every product on the shelves.) I bought a can and sure enough, it was exactly like the cheese I so loved at the ballpark.

It started to become a thing, I would find myself at Quality Foods (Wayne, NE) or Joe and Al’s (Columbus, NE) picking up this can of Shur-Fine brand Nacho Cheese while I was home visiting my family. When I was a kid, my mom bought a lot of Shur-Fine products at Mel’s Food Town (Wisner, NE). This was the store/generic brand sold at Affiliate Foods grocery stores across Nebraska. I don’t know if we bought Shur-Fine products because they were cheaper than the name brand, they tasted just fine, or to support my aunt who worked as a bookkeeper for the supplier.

Last December, my sister told me that Joe and Al’s was closing permanently. It’s a sad story of a small town business going under to larger grocery stores who can sell food at cheaper prices. My first concern – where would I buy my nacho cheese now? Quite frankly, I had tried other canned cheeses and they just weren’t the same.

As a joke, my sister bought four cans of the nacho cheese as a Christmas gift for me. She wrapped them separately and gave them to me at different times to open. I know it sounds like the stupidest gift but I loved it.

As I have said before, I hate throwing out food. I created this recipe below because I couldn’t possibly eat enough nachos and mini-tacos to use all the cheese from one can. Reminded of a breakfast pizza with a kick in college and a skillet pizza my mother used to make, I created this dish. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Breakfast Pizza

1 package of crescent rolls (You can use the four roll can if you want a thinner crust.)
canned nacho cheese
diced ham
scrambled eggs (I use 4 eggs with a little milk to prepare this dish.)
shredded cheddar cheese

Spray an 8 x 8 glass dish with cooking spray. Cover the bottom with crescent rolls. Bake at 350 degrees for 8 – 10 minutes. While the crescent rolls are cooking, prepare the scramble eggs on your stovetop. Add diced ham when complete. Remove dish from oven and let it cool for a couple of minutes. Pat down the crescent rolls and spread a thin layer of nacho cheese on top. Cover with scramble egg mixture. Top with desired amount of shredded cheddar cheese. Bake breakfast casserole for approximately 15 – 18 minutes more.

Note: This dish might also be good with some diced peppers or spinach.

Leave a Reply

