Sweet Corn

Photo: From Jack Stack's website

When I was a child, my grandparents owned a fertilizer company. Although my Grandpa Fletcher had worked in the business for years but he didn’t actually open a physical office for Fletcher Farm Service until the early 80s. My grandma, all four of their children, and even a few grandchildren worked at Fletcher Farm Service at some point in their life. In the early years, my grandpa used to test out products in a sweet corn field behind his business to figure out which ones best met the needs of his customers.

I remember getting lost in the corn as a child picking the ears. My grandfather used to let me sell the corn I picked at my dad’s service station. I think a Baker’s Dozen was something insanely cheap like $2. Yes, here I was probably a 3rd grader starting my own business selling sweet corn. Grandpa Fletcher always believed in hard work and entrepreneurship. My little side business helped provide me with money for my back to school shopping. And I’ll tell you what; you have a lot more freedom in picking what you want to wear when you are spending your own money on the purchase.

Grandpa’s sweet corn was the best! My mom and aunts used to get together at my Aunt Irene’s house to can it. I would join my cousins out back to help shuck the ears. It was quite a process to clean the ears, cut the corn off the cob, cook it, and package it. But the reward was fresh corn all year long.

When I first moved to Kansas City, I knew I had to sample the BBQ. I quickly fell in love with Fiorella’s Jack Stack Barbeque. Delicious burnt ends, chicken, and side dishes. Normally, I’m a potato girl but at Jack Stack – I like the Cheesy Corn. I found today’s recipe on the Kansas City Restaurant Guide’s website a number of years ago. I hope you enjoy this dish as much as my family does. It might not be Grandpa Fletcher’s sweet corn but it’s so good.

Jack Stack’s Cheesy Corn

2 tsp. butter
4 tsp. flour
1/8 tsp. garlic powder
3/4 c. milk
6 oz. cheddar cheese
3 oz. cream cheese
3 pkg. (10 oz.) frozen corn, thawed
3 oz. ham, diced

In a large sauce pan, melt butter. Stir in flour and garlic powder. Add milk. Cook, stirring constantly, over a medium heat until thickened and bubbly. Stir in cheese. Cook, stirring constantly, over a low heat until melted. Stir in corn and ham. Transfer to a 2 qt. casserole dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

Note: Just remove the ham if you want to make it vegetarian.

One response

  1. Pingback: Swiss Steak | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

