Fresh Basil

Usually, I have some sort about a special memory about the recipe I am providing. Today’s recipe doesn’t really have a great story. A few months ago, I made this amazing Basil Orzo Pasta with Shrimp at Social Suppers. I think part of the reason I loved this dish was because it had fresh basil – my favorite spice. I was telling the women at Social Suppers how it was one of my favorite dishes. They were telling me how they might start making it without the shrimp as one of their side dishes. What a great idea.

For today’s recipe, I am including two separate recipes. The first one is what I remember being in the Basil Orzo dish. (So my vegetarian friends can enjoy this lovely side.) I am also combining it with a recipe for Basil Shrimp I got from Taste of Home. I think both recipes compliment each other nicely.

Basil Orzo

1 small package of Orzo pasta (I bought mine at Trader Joe’s)
Fresh basil, chopped (I found it in the produce section of the grocery store)
1 small can of diced tomatoes
1 small container of feta cheese

I cooked the recommendations for three serving of orzo pasta according to instructions. After draining water, I poured pasta into a small glass bowl. I added maybe half the can of tomatoes, probably 1/3 of the package of fresh basil, and a handful or two of feta. Stir together. Then, I sprinkled the top of the dish with feta. Cover with foil and put in a 350 degree oven for approximately 20-25 minutes to warm cold ingredients/melt cheese in this dish.

 Tomato Basil Marinade for Shrimp

1/3 c. olive oil
1/4 c. tomato sauce
2 T. minced fresh basil
2 T. red wine vinegar
1 1/2 t. minced garlic
1/4 t. cayenne pepper
2 # uncooked jumbo shrimp, peeled and deveined

In a Ziploc baggie, combine the first six ingredients; add shrimp. Seal bag, shake, and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Drain and discard marinade. Thread onto six metal and soaked wooden skewers. Grill, covered, over a medium heat for 3-5 minutes on each side or until shrimp turns pink.

Notes:

  • This recipe is for six servings. Cut in half if you are combining the dishes.
  • I have also served this shrimp on top of Thai Jasmine rice (the type of rice they serve in Indian restaurants). Again, you can find this type of rice in the freezer section at Trader Joe’s.
  • As in previous posts, I would encourage you to check out Social Suppers. This is a variation on their dish so their recipe tastes a little bit different. The original recipe is in my top three favorite dishes I have made there so please check them out. I recreated this just because it only makes it into their normal rotation once or twice a year.
One response

  1. Pingback: Top 10 | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

