Minor steps

A few weeks ago, I wrote in my blog about how I final made my way back to the gym. I am happy to report I have made it every weekday for the past two weeks. Most days, I set my alarm clock for 6:30AM. Heading to bed earlier, I usually find myself awake before the alarm goes off. I’m not going to lie, that doesn’t always mean I don’t hit the snooze button at least once.

Most mornings, I try to do 30 minutes on the treadmill and about 20 minutes of weights. This past week, I was really swamped with work. I had the debate – “Do I get up early and start working or do I go to the gym?” I’m really proud of myself because I finally figured out how to take care of my health and still get my work done. I set my alarm close anywhere from 30-45 minutes earlier. I cut out the weights but still got in 30 minutes of cardio walking. And the best news, I got everything done at work too.

The other day, I noticed my t-shirt was a little looser when I pulled it over my hips. I have never been one to weigh myself because I often get frustrated with the lack of weight loss. And hearing words from others like, “You are gaining muscle, it weighs more than fat” doesn’t seem to help. But I can tell I feel better after my morning workout. I also noticed I seem to have a lot more energy throughout the day. I even enjoy reading the closed captioning version of 41 Action News while listening to power music mix.

It occurred to me this morning that I have been working out for 12 days. At 1.77 miles per day, I have walked over 21 miles in the last two weeks that I otherwise would not have done. I was really proud of myself.

Recently, I made this salmon dish for dinner. I remembered that a portion of meat isn’t supposed to be any bigger than the palm of your hand. For this reason, I cut the slice of meat in half creating twice as many meals. Plus, salmon is “super food”. This healthy meat is loaded with omega-3 and monounsaturated fat. These combinations are good for lowering your risk of heart disease, arthritis, and lowering cholesterol. Plus, they think salmon is good at helping prevent memory loss.

I hope you like this dish as much as I did the first time I prepared it for dinner. It is helping me get ready to participate in the Diva Dash 5K with my co-workers and volunteers on March 24th.

Baked Strawberry Salmon by Taste of Home

¾ c. soy sauce (I used the low sodium version)
2 T. lemon juice
1 T. Dijon mustard (I used Honey Dijon)
¼ tsp. pepper
4 salmon fillets (6 oz. each), skin removed
2/3 c. strawberry preserves

In a large baggie, combine soy sauce, lemon juice, mustard, and pepper. Add salmon. Turn to coat meat. Refrigerate for 30 minutes to marinade.

Discard marinade. Place salmon on foil coated dish. Spoon preserves over and bake uncovered at 375 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

Notes:

  • I brought frozen salmon filets at Sam’s Club. Much cheaper per piece and they thaw in the fridge overnight. I also noticed they are on sale at Super Target this week for an even cheaper price.
  • I halved this recipe. Cutting into 3 oz. pieces of meat I still got four servings.
  • I served this with a serving of Thai Jasmine Rice. Fresh green beans or a romaine salad would also be delicious with this fish.
  • I really like Grandmother’s Pantry jams. They are a local company who prepare their jams at home so you’ll have to look for them at events like the Craft Patch craft shows. They don’t add sugar to their jams so they are great for diabetics like my grandparents.
Leave a Reply

