Candy Bar Cookies

At Halloween time, the management of our building came trick-or-treating to our office. The great part, they delivered us the treats. Surprisingly, no one in my office was really eating the Milky Way bars. I’m not sure why – chocolate and caramel are two of my favorites. They also make me think of my Great-grandma Kingston who always had Milky Ways in her fridge that smelled like perfume.

I asked Pam if I could take them home and create a recipe I thought everyone in the office might sample. The result was Candy Bar-Frosted Chippers from an old Pillsbury cookbook. It was the first time I ever made them but they were awesome! I posted a pic on FB and lots of people emailed me for the recipe. I hope you enjoy these yummy treats.

Candy Bar-Frosted Chipper 

1 (18-oz.) roll Pillsbury Refrigerated Chocolate Chip Cookies
3 (2.05 oz.) Milky Way, original candy bars
¼ c. butter
1 T. milk
1 c. powdered sugar

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Shape cookie dough into 20 (1 ¼ inch balls); please 2 inches apart on cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes. Remove from cookie sheet and let cool for 15 minutes.

In a small pan, combine 2 chopped candy bars and butter. Cook over a low heat for 2-3 minutes or until melted and smooth, stirring frequently. Remove from heat. Add milk and powdered sugar; beat until smooth. Frost cooled cookies and sprinkle with remaining chopped candy bar.

Notes: I used a container of cookie chip cookie dough and made about 2 dozen cookies. It’s a great way to support a kid’s fundraiser and create a delicious treat.

Leave a Reply

