Salsa con Queso

One of the things my ex-boyfriend P and I had in common was a love of food. Most nights, we had some sort of marinated grilled meat for dinner. On nights I actually left work close to on-time, we usually would cook dinner tonight. The goal was to be done with our dish in time to watch Family Feud together, probably the one show we could agree on watching together. P was always willing to try new dishes. P’s parents were both Honduran but he didn’t like things that were too spicy. I found this recipe in one of Simple and Delicious cookbooks while we were dating. I thought this “kid-friendly” version was the perfect level of kick. This was probably our favorite new dish we ever made together – and something we cooked more than once. P got such a kick out of the name “salsa con queso” because it translates literally to cheese salsa.

When my dad’s wife was battling cancer, Steph and I cooked them lunch the day of my cousin’s graduation. We served this dish with a side salad and the round crescent rolls (in another blog post). Sandy was a tremendous cook; both she and my dad loved this dish. I hope you find it tasty too.

Chicken Penne with Salsa con Queso

1 pkg. Penne Paste (16 oz.)
2 c. cooked cubed Chicken
1 jar Salsa con Queso
1/2 c. Milk

Grill chicken and cube it. Cook pasta. Add chicken, queso, and milk to pasta. Cook until hot.

Recipe Modifications:

  • You can jazz up this recipe up by topping it with black beans, fresh tomatoes, and/or sour cream.
  • I like using the pasta above because it has 5 grams of fiber per serving.
2 responses

  1. Pingback: Top 10 | midwestsimple

  2. Pingback: Let the SNAP Challenge Begin | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

