Blueberries – A Super Food

If you have ever seen Dr. Oz, than I am sure you are familiar with the turn “Super Food.” Blueberries are one of my favorite “Super Foods.” Blueberries are loaded with antioxidants which help keep you healthy. They are also loaded with vitamins K and C.

I got this recipe at a Taste of Home Cooking School I attended with my friend Jan. I went straight to the grocery store after the event just to pick up the ingredients to make this muffin recipe. I hope you also enjoy this recipe.

Sour Cream Blueberry Muffins

2 c. biscuit/baking mix (I use Bisquick)
3/4 c. plus 2 T. sugar, divided
2 eggs
1 c. sour cream (I used light)
1 c. fresh or frozen blueberries

In a large bowl, combine Biquick and 3/4 c. sugar. In a small bowl, combine eggs and sour cream. Stir it into the larger bowl of dry ingredients. Fold in blueberries.

Pour into muffin cup and sprinkle with remaining sugar. Bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until toothpik comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing to eat or placing on a cookie rack.

Notes:

  • Don’t use fresh blueberries unless you have to. It turns your batter all blue.
  • You could probably substitute plain yogurt for sour cream. It would decrease fat content. I like light sour cream because it has some fat which helps the recipe set correctly.
  • You can also omit the extra sugar on top. It is just decoration.
One response

  1. I buy fresh blueberries when they are on sale and spread them on a cookie sheet to freeze. After they are frozen, I pour them into a zip bag and keep them handy in the freezer. Then whenever I want, I can pop a handful into my bowl of oatmeal before it goes in the microwave, or they are ready for muffins and waffles. I just used the last of my cache from 2011 and now they’ll be on sale again soon! I do the same with the raspberries I get from my garden.

Leave a Reply

