Flavor

As a child, my mother would sometimes cook roast in the Crockpot and other times in the oven. I always preferred the Crockpot while my sister preferred the oven. Part of the reason I liked the Crockpot better is because the meat was always softer.

This past December, my friends Jan and Scott invited me over for dinner. My friend Jan is a great cook and we always talk about what we have recently made. She pulled out all the stops: pot roast, homemade mashed potatoes, gravy, warm bread, carrots, appetizers, and salad. I made Cherry Crisp for dessert. Oh, it was soooooo good! I loved her roast because it was way juicy than anything I have ever prepared. If their is one lesson I’ve learned, ask someone how they made something you really enjoyed. Scott told me than Jan had used beef broth and they saved the leftovers to make beef stew. What a great idea – no waste.

I recently bought a roast when it was on sale. While digging through my recipe binders, I ran across this recipe to add a little flavor to my pot roast. It won 3rd Place in the January/February 2004 Quick Cooking magazine (now called Simple & Delicious). Although it was good the first time I eat it, I actually think the leftovers were even better.

Italian Beef Sandwiches by Jan Kent

1 beef tip sirloin roast (4 1/2 pounds)
1 can (14.5 oz.) beef broth
1 can (12 oz.) beer or beef broth
1 c. water
1/4 c. cider vinegar
1 envelope onion soup mix
1 envelope Italian salad dressing mix
1 garlic clove, minced
1 1/2 tsp. dried oregano
1 tsp. dried basil
10 Italian sandwich rolls (6 inches), split

Place roast in a 5 qt. slow cooker. Combine all ingredients except bread. Pour over roast. Cook 7-8 hours or until meat is tender.

Remove roast and shred meat with two forks. Return to slow cooker and heat another 30 minutes. Using a slotted spoon, spoon shredded meat onto sandwich rolls. Serve juice as a dipping sauce.

Recipe modifications:

  • I cut this recipe in half. I only used a low sodium beef broth and substituted garlic powder for a clove.
  • I think the sandwich might also taste good with a little melted swiss cheese.
Leave a Reply

