Jack Stack Beans

Fiorella Jack Stack is a Kansas City original. When people come to town to visit, I usually take them to Jack Stack. KC is known for a BBQ and I think Jack Stack does it best. Last summer, I took my friend Jen to their location on the Plaza for lunch. I think her exact quote was “If I knew I was dying, I would pick this as my last meal.” Although their meats are amazing, one of the reasons I love Jack Stack is because of their terrific side dishes.

In an earlier post, I posted the recipe for Fiorella Jack Stack’s Cheesy Corn. My friend Joe asked where the recipe was for their tasty baked beans. I searched the internet and sure enough, the Food Network had the recipe posted. I printed it off and decided to try it. I think it turned out pretty close the original. I didn’t have brisket though so I used some roast from another recipe I created for the meat. If you have to chose between the two sides, I would still pick Cheesy Corn first.

Jack Stack Barbecue Beans

1 – 32 oz. can of pork and beans (I bought the plain store brand so I didn’t mess up the taste)
1 c. chopped brisket
1 c. BBQ sauce (recommended Jack Stack Original)
4 heaping tablespoons of brown sugar
1 T. chili powder
1 t. liquid smoke
1/2 c. ketchup
1/2 c. water

Combine all ingredients in a 4 quart saucepan. Over a medium heat, bring beans to a boil, and reduce to a simmer. Cook beans for 20 minutes or until a thick, soupy consistency is reached. Serve.

Notes:

  • They also noted you can cook this on the grill.
  • The recipe says it serves 4-6. I think it makes a lot more than that.
2 responses

  1. Thanks for taking me to Jack Stack when I was in KC five years ago this April. The BBQ, beans, and cheesy corn were great, but having you as a personal tour guide was the best. Probably time for a return trip!

  2. Pingback: Chix & Slaw Sliders | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

