Mini-Muffins

Today’s recipe is from People Magazine (5/2/11). Yes, I know that is a celebrity publication. But just like the crossword puzzle and the ten changes picture, People Magazine has a weekly celebrity dish.

My sister is a People Magazine junkie. I often joke that my sister doesn’t know it is news until she reads it in People. Perhaps part of the reason that is true is because my sister works so many jobs (Music Teacher, Student Council Advisor, Private Voice/Piano Lesson Teacher, Youth Group Leader, Church Accompanist, and Mom) that she never really sits down and watches television. The one thing she does do though is read her People Magazine every week from start to finish. And don’t even try talking to her when she is reading it, she hears nothing.

My sister is great though about sharing her magazines with me when we see each other. After I am finished, I take them to SAFEHOME for the clients to read.

Strawberries and Cream Mini Muffins by Nigella Lawson

1 c. strawberries, slightly under-ripe, diced
1 squeeze of lemon juice (I just used the bottle kind)
1 c. flour
1/2 c. sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 c. vegetable oil
1/3 c. sour cream (I used the light kind)
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 egg
1 tsp. powder sugar

Put strawberries in a bowl and spritz with lemon juice. Stir gently. In a medium bowl, combine flour, sugar, and baking powder. In a small bowl, beat together oil, sour cream, vanilla, and egg. Pour over dry ingredients and stir. Fold in berries. Divide batter between 24 mini-muffins. Bake at 400 degrees for 12-14 minutes. Cool 5 minutes and transfer to wire rack. Dust with powdered sugar before serving.

Note: I halved this recipe and it made 18 mini-muffins. For a prettier muffin, use paper liners.

Leave a Reply

