Chix & Slaw Sliders

Last year, I went to Harvester’s Forks and Corks fundraiser. If you have never been, I would totally recommend going. It’s a food lovers delight! Some of Kansas City’s best restaurants and libations come together to provide sampling of their foods/beverages. And the best part is all the money raised from ticket sales and auction purchases benefits our community food network.

While attending Forks and Corks, I sampled a delicious pulled pork slider with coleslaw. I can’t remember what restaurant it came from but it was great. Shortly after, I saw this recipe in my Kraft Food and Family magazine. I finally got around to making it. Although it was as good as I anticipated it tasting, it was alright. I little the bite-sized sandwich for portion control purposes. Check it out and see what you think.

Pulled Chicken Minis with Ranch Slaw

3 c. shredded cooked chicken
3/4 c. BBQ sauce (I used KC Masterpiece)
2 1/2 c. coleslaw blend (cabbage slaw mix)
1/4 c. Ranch dressing (I used fat-free)
1 pack. Hawaiian rolls (I used King Hawaiian brand)

Cook chicken and barbecue sauce in a covered saucepan on medium-low heat for 10 minutes or until heated through, stirring frequently. In a separate bowl, mix slaw and dressing. Fill rolls with chicken mixture and top with slaw. Makes 12 sandwiches.

Recipe Modifications:

  • I grilled boneless, skinless chicken breast for this recipe. I added barbecue sauce in microwave for a few seconds to warm the sauce. I think this recipe might be better if you used a rotisserie chicken.
  • I served this with Jack Stack’s Bake Beans.
Leave a Reply

