Happy 100th Birthday

Today is the 100th birthday of the Girl Scouts. As a former Girl Scout and a friend of several former employees, I couldn’t let this opportunity pass me by to share another delicious recipe that uses Girl Scout cookies.

It’s funny because when I think about politics, I think back to being a Girl Scout. In 1988, I was a 5th grader at Wisner Elementary School and a fourth year scout. For Girl Scouts, we decided to help clean-up our community after the election by helping remove political signs. But I also remember our school setting up a mock Presidential election. I recall lots of kids having some very distinct opinions about who they thought should be President. I’m pretty sure those kids were just spewing whatever their parents were saying at home. It’s interesting because I don’t really recall my parents discussing politics.

I know it was the first election I started asking my own family about who they were voting for and why. My dad always went to vote after he closed the station. I’m pretty sure he allowed me to tag along with him to the City Auditorium when he went to vote that year. My Grandma Fletcher told me how women gained the right to vote when her mother was just 10 years old. Grandma Kingston made a point of voting in every election because she knew recognized the importance of this powerful right to have her voice heard. And for many year’s, my Grandma Fletcher served an election poll worker (an opportunity I had to do for my country in 2010).

Like political elections, Girl Scouts opens up the world to all sorts of possibilities for girls. Remember that the next time a Daisy, Brownie, Girl Scout, or Cadets ask you to order cookies.

Lemon Crunch Cheesecakes with Caramel Apple Topping (source – some Girl Scout Council website)

8 Lemonades Girl Scout Cookies (5 crushed and 3 broken into small pieces)
4 tsp. melted butter
1 pkg. (8 oz.) cream cheese, softened
1/4 c. sugar
1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
1 egg
1 c. finely chopped apple
1/3 c. caramel flavored topping

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place 6 baking cups in a muffin tin. Combine crushed cookies and butter. Press in bottom of muffin cups. Beat cream cheese, sugar, egg, and vanilla using an electric mixer. Stir in cookie pieces. Spoon batter onto crust. Bake for 20 minutes or until centers are almost set. Cool. Refrigerate for 2 hours or overnight. Just before serving, remove cheesecakes from muffin wrappers. Top each with chopped apple and drizzle with caramel topping. Serve immediately.

One response

  1. I’ll be working the polls in Wayne County again this year. It really is a nice diversion from my regular job. Unfortunately we aren’t always busy so I usually take some knitting to work on during the slow times.

Leave a Reply

