Homemade Irish Cream

My aunt Kathy and her family are die hard Irish fanatics. Not only do they enjoy eating at Browne’s Irish Marketplace and watching The Elders, but they are also very involved in Irish events. A few of Kathy’s siblings have chaired Irish Fest and Kansas City’s St. Patty’s Day Parade. A few years ago, my aunt event started a St. Patrick’s Day parade in her hometown – Troy, KS. In this small town of 994 people, the parade takes about 15 minutes from start to finish. My aunt usually carries an Irish flag while my uncle Kermit drives their vehicle with Kermit the Frog riding shotgun. But my family’s philanthropic commitment comes through as they ask attendees to bring canned goods to the parade to support their local charity.

I found this Irish inspired recipe in a recent Taste of Home email. It gaves me a chance to use my Keurig so I thought I would give it a try. I liked and I hope you will enjoy it.

Homemade Irish Cream by Marcia Severson

1 can (12 oz.) evaporated milk
1 c. heavy whipping cream
1/2 c. milk
1/4 c. sugar
2 T. chocolate syrup
1 T. instant coffee
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1/4 tsp. almond extract

In a blender, combine the ingredients and process. Store in refrigerator. When ready to serve, mix 1/3 c. Irish Cream mix with 1/2 c. brewed coffee. Heat mixture in microwave if desired. Entire recipe makes enough for 10 servings.

Nutrition facts (per serving): 165 calories, 11 g. of fat (7 g. saturated fat), 53 mg sodium, 12 g. carbs, and 3 g. protein.

Note:

  • The editor’s noted you can add Irish whiskey.
  • I used skim milk. I think you could also use a sugar substitute and it would still taste good.
Leave a Reply

