Classic Potato Casserole

I have seen a lot of recipes for cheesy hash brown potatoes – even baked a few. But my mom’s recipe is still the best.

I’ll never forgot the time my Grandma Fletcher tried to modify this recipe. My Grandpa Fletcher doesn’t eat chicken or turkey. He grew up on a farm with chickens…and you get the idea. My grandfather had enjoyed this recipe when mom brought it to a family gathering. My grandma asked for the recipe because she also enjoyed it. Grandma thought my grandpa wouldn’t eat it again if he knew it had cream of chicken soup so she swapped it out for cream of mushroom. She also didn’t have any corn flakes so she decided to top it with Frosted Flakes. (I’m laughing just writing this.) Anyway, she bake the casserole and tried to serve it to my cousins Becky, Dan, and Marilyn when she was babysitting them one-time. Needless to say, no one would eat it after just one bite. The lesson, you can’t always modify recipe with what you want or have in your pantry.

I think this dish makes an excellent side dish for a baked ham. Perhaps you can cook this dish for your Easter dinner.

Mom’s Hash Brown Casserole by Kathy Bourek

 2 lbs. frozen hash browns
1/2 c. butter, melted
1 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
1 can Cream of Chicken Soup
1 c. milk
1 c. sour cream (8 oz.)
10 oz. shredded cheddar cheese

 Combine all ingredients in baking dish. Bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees.

Notes:

  • I use a Tupperware That-A-Bowl to mix this.
  • I also let my hash browns sit out for about 30 minutes because it is easier to mix them.
  • Don’t use fat free sour cream and cream soup. It won’t set up properly if you do. You can us light sour cream , healthy request soup, and skim milk though.
  • You can top this with corn flakes if you want a crunch.
6 responses

  1. Pingback: Roast Lamb Recipe | Roast Lamb Recipe

  2. Pingback: Honey & Spice | midwestsimple

  3. Pingback: Swiss Steak | midwestsimple

  4. Pingback: Top 10 | midwestsimple

  5. We still laugh about it because that is the same babysitting week that grandma used Pinesol in the dishwasher, also with disastrous results!! I did notice that in the last Chicken Show Cook Book several cheesy potato recipes specifically called for frosted flakes!!

  6. Pingback: Crack Potatoes | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

