I Don’t Like Veggies

Anyone who knows me will tell you, “Amber doesn’t eat veggies.” It’s kind of a joke because until about 12 years ago, I really didn’t eat veggies. I only ate all the bad one – potatoes and corn.

As a baby, my mother says I used to love vegetables. As I got older, I started listening to my sister complain about vegetables and I stopped eating them.

So what changed? I’m adult now and I know that I need to eat vegetables. It doesn’t mean I love them but at least I started trying them to figure out what I liked and how I liked it. Let me start by saying, I still don’t eat canned veggies. They are nasty. But fresh is hip and I can actually afford to buy it so I do.

What I learned? I like raw spinach and romaine lettuce. I still won’t eat iceberg lettuce and you will never catch me ordering a salad as my entire meal at a restaurant. But I will sample a salad at a luncheon or fundraising dinner now. I like asparagus and will eat it as a side dish at a restaurant. I’ll eat onions and peppers if chopped finally in a dish. I like to cook with tomatoes. I like raw celery if it is the crunch in a recipe. Zucchini isn’t bad with hummus.

The one vegetable I don’t love raw or cooked is broccoli. I just can’t get past the smell – I don’t care how much cheese you cover it in.

As for carrots, I learned I liked them cooked. Whether it was in with a roast or in a soup, I would eat them. When I ran across this recipe for carrots in a Kraft magazine and it had 5 Stars, I decided I had to try it. Yes, I know carrots are better for you if you eat them raw. But if a little sauce gets me to eat my vegetables, it’s better than not eating them at all. I hope this recipe helps your kids eat their veggies. I also think this would make a great side for your Easter ham.

Maple-Glazed Baby Carrots by Jill

2 lb. baby carrots
1/4 c. Kraft Light Catalina Dressing (I looked and Kraft was the only brand of this kind of dressing at my grocery store)
1/4 c. maple-flavoring or pancake syrup
1 T. butter
1/2 c. coarsely chopped Pecans

Cook carrots in boiling water for 12-14 minutes or until tender, drain. Bring dressing and syrup to a boil in the same saucepan on medium heat, stirring frequently. Stir in carrots; cook until glaze is thickened, stirring frequently. Add butter; stir until melted. Stir in nuts and serve. (Serves 10, 1/2 c. servings.)

Recipe Modifications:

  • I halved the recipe and just used one bag of baby carrots.
  • I don’t like nuts so I made this recipe without them. Still good.
  • I used Fat Free Dressing and light syrup. It still works and cuts the amount of fat I’m adding to my vegetables.
2 responses

  1. Pingback: Honey & Spice | midwestsimple

  2. Pingback: Nine Must Have Thanksgiving Recipes | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

