I Think My Oven Hates Me

I’m sure we have all thought it at least once. A recipe that you love when somebody else makes it doesn’t turn out quite the same when you make it. What did I do wrong? You check with the original recipe provider just to make sure you didn’t miss any ingredients. You ask what brands they used. You might even try using different bake ware. As a last resort you watch them make the recipe. But you still can’t get the recipe to come out just right. That’s when I blame my oven.

The recipe for me that seems to keep eluding me is Monster Cookies. One of my favorite memories from my childhood is making cookies with my mom. When I was really little my mother stayed home with me and did the books for my parents gas/service station. My mother was always cooking up something in the kitchen and trying new recipes. She also baked lots of desserts for funerals at our church. But my mom always let me help her make cookies.

We usually made Chocolate Chip Cookies. For helping, I got to eat the leftover batter in the bowl. (Yes, this was before we knew the salmonella from raw eggs was bad for you and the invention of Cookie Dough ice cream.) I have always loved chocolate, especially M&Ms. As a kid, I didn’t get to eat chocolate very often because my sister was allergic. (She ate too many solid chocolate Easter Bunnies as a kid. And I’m sorry but carob is not chocolate!) Monster Cookies were great because they included chocolate chips and M&Ms. What’s not to love.

I can’t tell you how many times I have made this recipe and I still can’t get it to look like my mother’s Monster Cookies. They taste fine but they look flat. At first, I thought it was because I was using reduced fat peanut butter so I switched to regular. They still looked flat. Then, I left the dough in the fridge over night to get stiffer. No change. I decided to cook them on a regular cookie sheet as opposed to a mat or air bake pan. Still no change.

I told my sister that it must be because I used generic oatmeal. My sister made me feel better when she told me that her cookies looked just like mine and she uses Quaker oatmeal. Steph also reminded me that my mother had baked the cookies at her house, with her ingredients and magically got the cookies to not look flat.

I share this recipe in hopes your cookies look like they do when my mother bakes them. Even if they don’t, I promise they still taste exactly the same. Pure heaven!

Monster Cookies by Kathy Bourek

1/2 c. butter
1 c. sugar
1 and 1/2 c. brown sugar
3 eggs
1 and 1/2 c. peanut butter
1 tsp. vanilla
2 tsp. baking soda
2 c. oatmeal
1 c. chocolate chips
1/2 c. M&Ms

Cream together first three ingredients. Continue to add ingredients and stir. Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

