Neapolitan Cupcake

When I was a kid, I remember my Grandma Fletcher always had this frosted glass egg shaped candy dish on her coffee table. Back in those days, you could buy Brach’s Pick-A-Mix candy by the pound at Pamida or the grocery store. Grandma loved those orange peanuts, butterscotch disk, and those flavored caramel/toffee chews the most. But sometimes, Grandma would scoop an assortment of Brach’s candy which might include the Neapolitan chew.

The Monday after the Super Bowl, one of my co-workers was telling me about this amazing cupcake she had tried at a friend’s Super Bowl party. She had found the recipe on Pinterest. It was a brownie base with strawberry cake topped with butter cream icing. Theresa got me the recipe so I made them. I didn’t love them the way she did so I was worried I had cooked them wrong. Theresa tired my cupcakes and said they were great. Although this isn’t my favorite dessert recipe, I think you might really like this if you loved that classic Neapolitan candy as a kid.

Neapolitan Cupcakes

1 box of brownie mix
1 box of strawberry cake mix
1 can of butter cream frosting

 Mix brownie according to box directions. Fill muffin cups half full. In a separate bowl, mix cake mix according to instructions. Spoon cake mix onto of brownie mix. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Cool and top with frosting.

One response

Leave a Reply

