Swiss Steak

You have probably read by now some of my crazy cooking stories about my Grandma Fletcher. She is one of those people who doesn’t really use recipes or changes them up a little bit. Today, I thought I would share one of my favorite dishes– Swiss Steak. For years, I tried to make it but it never turned out as juicy and tender as it did when Grandma made it. As I have expressed before, that’s when you have to watch someone make their recipe. That is how I learned the true art to making this recipe delicious. I hope you enjoy this Crock Pot recipe as much as I do.

Swiss Steak by Shirley Fletcher

1 package of minute/cubed steak (I usually use 3 or 4 of them)
flour
pepper
Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO)
1 can of stewed tomatoes
V8 small can (or pour in some tomato juice)

Lightly grease a pan with EVOO and heat. Flour and pepper cubed steaks. Place in hot pan. Cook til somewhat brown and flip. (Note: you are only half cooking these so don’t worry about them not being done.) Meanwhile, pour the can of stewed tomatoes into a food processor. Blend slightly. Add a small can of V8 or enough tomato juice to cover the stewed tomatoes (approximately 4-6 oz.). Blend a little bit more. Pour a little bit into the bottom of the Crock Pot. Place first steak on top of it. Cover with a tomato mixture and repeat until all steaks are in the Crock Pot and all the tomato mixture has been used. Cook on a low heat for 4-6 hours.

Notes:

  • My Grandmother added the leftover flour to the pan and makes a little gravy. She adds this to the Crock Pot as well.
  • This is a great recipe to serve with the Classic Potato Casserole, Jack Stack’s Cheesy Corn, and Garlic Poppy Seed Spirals.
  • Cubed steaks are flatten steak so they can be really expensive. Buy the meat when it is on sale and freeze it or check the fresh meat counter for specials. I like Price Chopper’s minute steaks the best because they don’t fall apart as easily.
One response

  1. Another option is to buy round steak and break it down yourself with a Pampered Chef tenderizer or other tool. Use the leftover gravy/sauce as a flavor base for vegetable soup. I wish I would have seen this sooner as this would have made a great meal plan for my supper tonight. It is a bit chilly here and I’ll barely have time to eat after work and before my two evening meetings. Makes me think of the commercial: “I could have had a V8!”

Leave a Reply

