Breakfast Bites

I found this recipe in a recent issue of Taste of Home. I don’t know that I have ever baked a recipe with Phyllo Shells but I thought I would give it a try. You can’t go wrong with cheese and bacon. By using Ricotta cheese, you significant cut the fat content from cheese. Plus, the creamy texture helps blend the other cheeses for perfect baking in these tiny crusts.

Makeover Mini Bacon Quiches by Julie Hieggelke
1/2 # bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled

1/2 c. reduced-fat Ricotta cheese
1/2 c. Cheddar cheese
1/2 c. Mozzarella cheese
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 small onion, finely chopped
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
dash of cayenne pepper
dash of black pepper

1 box of Phyllo shells (15 count box can be found in the freezer section)

Cook and crumble bacon. Mix with cheeses and egg. Spoon into shells. Bake at 350 degree for 8-10 minutes. Serve warm.

Notes:

  • I used Fat Free Cheddar Cheese in this recipe. It melted just fine with the other cheeses.
  • I omitted the onion. When I do this, I usually sprinkle in a little onion powder.
  • You could probably substitute egg white substitute and veggie bacon in the recipe.
  • Great recipe for a brunch or shower.
Leave a Reply

