Fireworks

As a kid, I remember seeing jars of seasoning on the tables at Pizza Hut. I didn’t understand what they were doing there. To this day, I don’t think I have ever seen anyone using them on pizza…except on an occasional dare from one child to another. Yet to this day, you always get asked if you want red pepper flakes or parmesan cheese even when you do carry out at any pizza place.

When I worked at SAFEHOME, my friend and co-worker Michele brought in these crackers with red pepper flakes. They had a little bit of kick but I couldn’t stop eating them. I looked online and found a similar recipe. I decided to make it with oyster crackers instead of saltine crackers. Yes, you loose a little of the seasoning but I think the flavor is more manageable this way.

Crackers a la Yvette

1 package of oyster crackers (or one box of saltine crackers)
2 tsp. red pepper flakes

1 (1 oz.) package of dry ranch salad dressing mix
1 c. canola oil

Combine ingredients in a gallon sized zipped bag. Shake every 10 minutes for an hour. Let them sit for a few hours for eating.

Leave a Reply

