Chicken Bites

Who doesn’t love chicken bites? For my sister and I, we are big Chick-fil-a fans. I guess the obsession started when we were children. Southern Hills Mall had a Chick-fil-a restaurant in their food court. I had no idea how weird it was for them to have a store in Sioux City, IA. Back in those days, their restaurants were pretty much in the south. We loved the free samples of their nuggets. We also usually went to Sioux City on Sundays because it was the one day my dad had off from work. And if you are a fan, you know Chick-fil-a is closed on Sundays.

I remember the first time I realized Chick-fil-a was in Kansas City. A Hope House co-worker walked into the office with a Chick-fil-a bag. I grilled Jenny where she got their deliciousness in town. It turns out Johnson County Community College had a location in their food court. But she also informed me that they had just opened a location in Olathe. At that time, I lived in Independence. You have to really love a fast food restaurant to travel 40 minutes just to get it. But I did.

Just before I moved from Independence to Lenexa, a Chick-fil-a opened near my house. The first question my sister asked, “How close are you to Chick-fil-a?” She was in luck, they had also opened a location by Oak Park Mall.

The recipe I am about to share come from a Taste of Home magazine. I may not be Chick-fil-a but it has excellent flavor.

Chicken Nuggets by Annette Ellyson

1 c. all-purpose flour
4 tsp. seasoned salt
1 tsp. poultry season
1 tsp. ground mustard
1 tsp. paprika
1/2 tsp. pepper
2 # boneless skinless chicken breast
1/4 canola (I used Extra Virgin Olive Oil)

In a large ziplock bag, combine the first six ingredients. Flatten chicken to 1/2 in. thick and cut into bite-sized pieces. Add bag and shake. In a large skillet, cook chicken in oil for 6-8 minutes turning frequently.

Leave a Reply

