Pork – The Other White Meat

When I was a kid, the slogan for pork was “the other white meat”. Do you remember that? Back then, everything had a slogan. “Beef – it’s what’s for dinner.” Wendy’s had a little old lady saying “where’s the beef” to promote that Wendy’s didn’t cut corners. I loved their square hamburgers as a child. I fact, it was probably the only restaurant I ordered a hamburger instead of chicken sticks.

Today, the slogan for pork is “Be Inspired.” What does that mean? What about eating pork inspires me? And what does it inspire me to do? I guess you can probably tell I was an advertising major in college and work in this field professionally.

This specific recipe came to me by way of my nephew. When Brock was little, he used to grab any pamphlet or brochure that was within his reach. As a tall kid with long arms, he gathered quite a few over the years. While shopping with his mom at Hy-Vee, Brock picked up this recipe card for me. They were on their way down to see me and Brock knew I loved to cook. I have to say, he did good because this is one of my favorite recipes. Lots of great flavor with all the seasons rubbed on the pork tenderloin.

Bacon-Wrapped Pork Tenderloin

1 # pork tenderloin
6 slices of bacon
toothpicks
1 T. olive oil
1 tsp. dried rosemary
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. onion powder
1 tsp. dried basil
1 tsp. dried oregano

Bast pork tenderloin with olive oil. Mix together spices and rub on meat. Wrap pork tenderloin in bacon (using toothpicks to secure. Bake at 375 degrees for 45-60 minutes. Let it cool slightly before cutting. Makes for four servings.

Calories per serving: 260 calories, 2 g. carbs, 31 g. protein, 14 g. fat, 5 g. sat. fat, 1 g. fiber, 95 mg. cholesterol, and 320mg sodium.

One response

  1. Pingback: Herb-Roasted Pork Chops | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

