Milk-less Cereal

When I was a kid, my sister and I had to agree on what cereal we were getting at the grocery store. My mother allowed us one box and we had to finish it before could by a new one. The other option was Corn Flakes. This was the cereal my father ate ever morning (and still does 40+ years later).

Stephanie loved cereals like Cheerios, Lucky Charms, and Frankenberry. I, on the other hand, enjoyed Apple Jacks, Fruit Loops, and Cinnamon Toast Crunch. Stephanie and I used to scope out the boxes at the grocery store. What were the new cereal choices? What box had the best toy? (But we weren’t allowed to dig through the box for it – you got the prize if it dumped out in your bowl.) We usually ended up with something healthy like Crispix or Triple because we could both agree to eat that cereal. If we picked Life, we mother would even eat a bowl or two. Probably our favorite – oh so bad for you cereal – was Ice Cream Cone cereal. We didn’t really like the “ice cream” but we loved the “cone” part of the cereal.

One of my favorite cereal memories was when Stephanie and I request Frosted Mini-Wheats. My mother tried to warn us that we would not like them but we didn’t listen. The commercials made them look healthy but sweet. That really wasn’t the case. If you have ever eaten Shredded Wheat, you know what I am saying! My mother held to her guns on not letting us get a new cereal. She finally agreed that if we could get something else to take the box, she would replace it with a new cereal. I can’t remember if Stephanie said we got Bob Colligan (our super sweet next door neighbor) or my Grandpa Fletcher to take the box off our hands. But trust me, we never made that mistake again!

Today, Stephanie and I always have several different kinds of cereal on hand at our homes. I bet on any given day we have at least 4-7 boxes in our cupboards. Most of Stephanie’s boxes are to make Caramel Chex Mix and I just like to eat different kinds every day.

If you saw my recipe for the Crunchy-topped Strawberry -Kiwi Parfaits, I got this recipe from the same flyer. It is probably one of the few times you can enjoy Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal without milk.

Crunchy Yogurt Parfaits

8 medium strawberries, sliced
1 1/3 c. fat-free strawberry Yoplait yogurt
1 c. Cinnamon Toast Crunch

Cut up six of the strawberries. Layer strawberries, cereal and yogurt in two containers and repeat. Top with a whole strawberry. Serve immediately.

3 responses

  1. We had the same cereal rules growing up at my house, one opened box at a time and no shaking or digging for the prize. My mom never bought the sweetened cereals. It must be my rebellious nature, because I usually have no less than 3 boxes open at any one time and frosted mini wheats, or the generic frosted wheat squares, is one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

