Bang Bang Shrimp

One of my board member’s, Laurie, posted this copycat recipe for Bonefish Grill’s Bang Bang Shrimp on her Facebook page. I had loved eating it from the restaurant so I thought I would give the recipe a try. It was very good.

The first time I ever tried Bang Bang Shrimp was last summer with my ex-boyfriend M. We loved the food at Bonefish and immediately wanted to go back for dinner.

My friend Michele also loves Bonefish Grill. She and her husband Jason had them cater their wedding last fall. They even had Bang Bang Shrimp as part of their meal.

I hope you enjoy this recipe with a little bit of a kick.

I served the shrimp with my recipe for Basil Orzo Pasta with Feta.

Bang Bang Shrimp by Teri

1 lb. shrimp, shelled and deveined smaller shrimp works best
1/2 c. mayo
1/4 c. Thai sweet chili sauce
3-5 drops of hot chili sauce
1/2 to 1/3 c. cornstarch

Bread the shrimp in cornstarch. Fry it until lightly brown. Drain on paper towel. Mix sauces with mayo. Add shrimp to bowl to coat. Suggested serving on lettuce topped with chopped scallions.

Nutrition Facts for original recipe: (Recipe serves four) 297 calories, 12 g. fat, 2 g. saturated fat, 150 mg cholesterol, 6 g. sugar, 30 carbs, 2 g. fiber, 17 g. protein.

Recipe modifications:

  • Per Laurie’s suggestion, I added a little garlic powder, onion powder, and ground black pepper.
  • If you want it a little less spicy, Laurie suggested using Garlic Chili Pepper Sauce.
  • Laurie also suggested subsisting a box of fish and chips mix from the grocery store for the cornstarch. I used cornstarch.
  • I used fat free mayo to reduce the number of calories. I thought it tasted just fine.
  • I also made sure I used Louisiana’s Pure Crystal Hot Sauce. I used to date a guy from New Orleans and he was picky about using this sauce. I have to say, he is totally right. I don’t think it is as hot as Tabasco sauce and taste way better. You can find it at Price Chopper and Super Wal-Mart. I think Hy-Vee might even be carrying it now.
  • I also used the bite-size pre-cooked shrimp when I made this recipe. I cooked it in Extra Virgin Olive Oil and it went super fast.

Leave a Reply

