Off the Grill

Grandpa Fletcher and his grandchildren honoring his father in Allen’s Centennial Parade.

Today is my Grandpa Fletcher’s 79th birthday. I couldn’t think of a better recipe to share when I think about him than a burger. I also learned May is National Burger Month…so another perfect reason to share this recipe.

When I think back to my childhood days at Grandma and Grandpa Fletcher’s house, my grandpa was always grilling dinner. Usually, it was Wimmer’s Hot Dogs and Hamburgers. And grandpa is very particular about his burgers. He only uses 97% fat-free ground top sirloin. He seasons them simply with a few shakes from his Tupperware tall salt and pepper shakers. And Grandpa only cooks the burgers one way – well done! Grandpa is so known for his burgers my nephew wanted to start a business with him. FHH – Fletcher’s Hot dogs and Hamburger would only serve meat. Grandpa would grill and Brock would be the runner to cars stopping by to pick them up. The 4H fair project did earn Brock a top ribbon.

But it some ways, grandpa had already done this. My Grandpa Fletcher is a Shriner. You know, they guys who drive around in those little cars, right? But not only did my grandpa drive a car in area parades, he was also great about volunteering his time for this charity. For years, he drove children and their families in the Shriner’s van to their hospital in Minnesota. When my grandparents moved to Yuma, my grandpa spent 2 or 3 days every week during the winter months grilling hamburgers at fundraisers for one of his favorite charities.

Today’s recipe isn’t as simple as Grandpa Fletcher’s burgers but I thought it was a good recipe. I got this recipe from the Kansas City Star some time ago. I made them for the first time last week. I hope you enjoy this spin on my Grandpa’s classic recipe.

Meatloaf Sliders

8 oz. 97 percent fat-free ground beef
1/4 c. chopped onion
1 large egg
1/4 c. plain breadcrumbs
2 T. low-fat milk
1/4 c. grated Parmesan cheese
2 tsp. freshly chopped parsley (optional)
1 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 1/2 tsp. Dijon mustard
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. ground black pepper
1/2 c. ketchup
6 whole-wheat slider buns

In a medium bowl, combine all ingredients the ketchup. Mix well and form into six (3 oz.) patties. Grill patties to desired meat readiness. (4 minutes per side for well done.) Serve on a cocktail bun topped with ketchup.

Nutrition Facts: 227 calories, 7 g. of fat, 1.5 g. saturated fat, 58 milligrams cholesterol, 26.5 g. carbs, 16 g. protein, 635 mg sodium, 1 g. fiber. Makes six servings.

Notes: I did try them with melted American cheese as well. They were also good…but the cheese isn’t necessary with all the flavor.

Leave a Reply

