Strawberry Soup

The very first year I worked at SAFEHOME, we moved our gala fundraiser to the Doubletree. In lieu of salad, we started the June Jubilee with a cold Strawberry Soup. As someone who is anti-veggie, you know how excited I was and I had nothing to do with the taste panel. Some guests refused to eat it because they didn’t know what it was. I liked it so much I started looking for Strawberry Soup recipes. I’ve made a few over the years. This recipe I tried for the first time a few weeks ago and I really liked it. Just blend, chill, and serve.

Summer Strawberry Soup by Verna Bollin

2 lbs. strawberries, diced into 8 cups
1/2 c. Orange juice
2 c. vanilla yogurt (I used fat-free)
1/2 c. sugar

Mix all ingredients in a blender. Once smooth, put in the fridge for at least 2 hours to chill. You may garnish with fresh mint and yogurt.

Nutrition Facts: (Makes six 1 cup servings.) 204 calories, 3 g. fat, 2 g. saturated fat, 8 mg. cholesterol, 54 mg. sodium, 41 g. carbs, 3 g. fiber, and 5 g. protein. 

One response

  1. Pingback: Raspberry Soup | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

