Caramel Chex Mix

I got this recipe from my sister. I have no idea who gave it to her but I would say it is one of her signature dishes. She often makes it as part of her Christmas gift for important people in her life. But she has also made it for road trips to Oklahoma and long hotel stays like when my dad’s wife was in the hospital. One of the things I really like about this recipe is how my sister always adds different things to it and it still turns out good. I hope you enjoy this sweet snack.

Caramel Chex Mix by Stephanie Bourek

2 sticks of butter
1 1/2 c. brown sugar
1/3 c. Light Karo Syrup
1/2 tsp. of baking soda
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 boxes of Chex mix

In a sauce pan, melt butter, brown sugar, and corn syrup. Bring to a boil for 3 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in baking soda and vanilla. In a brown paper grocery bag, put two boxes of cereal. Pour hot caramel over cereal. Close and shake. Microwave for 2 minutes. Remove, shake, and microwave for another two minutes. Repeat one more time. Then, carefully pour onto wax paper covered cookie sheets and let cool. Once cooled, you can add candy pieces to mix.

Other possible cereal and mix in options:

  • Chex or Crispix
  • Golden Grahams
  • Cheerios
  • Fiber One Cereal
  • Pretzels
  • Twizzlers (cut into bit sized pieces)
  • M&Ms
  • Tiny caramel chews
  • Candy Corn
  • Nuts
3 responses

  1. The “original” recipe calls for a 17 oz. box of cereal but I think that makes it too sweet so I “eyeball” about 1 1/2 boxes (I mix so many different kids I’m not sure exactly). Hope that helps. šŸ˜‰ Steph

  2. Do you only put the caramel sauce on the cereal? if you add in pretzels do you put the sauce over them or add them when you put in candy pieces? thank you!

Leave a Reply

