Homemade Chicken and Noodles

The first time I went to visit my Grandma and Grandpa Fletcher in Arizona, they took my mother and I to meet all their friends. One couple they hung out with my Grandpa Fletcher’s cousin Joann and her husband Jerry. When we went to Jerry and Joann’s house, Joann made this delicious homemade chicken and noodle dish. I’m sure her secret to the success of this dish was the homemade noodles. Although I never got a copy of Joann’s recipe before she passed away, I found a dish with a similar taste.

 This recipe comes from the cookbook Perfect 10. I had a chance to meet the author at a Craft Patch craft show in Lee’s Summit. The author was telling me how her family always gave rating of 1-10 (with 10 being the best) whenever she made a recipe. She placed all the perfect 10 recipes in a separate binder to make recipes for her family’s favorite dishes easily accessible. One day, she realized she had three binders full of perfect 10 recipes. The binders sparked an idea – to create a cookbook sharing these wonderful recipes with others.

The first recipe I made from the Perfect 10 cookbook was for this Homemade Chicken and Noodles. I halved it but I forgot to decrease all the spices. Loved it! The second time I made it, I didn’t do that and I added a little more carrots and celery. I felt like the flavor was better the first time. The recipe below is the original recipe as written. I would recommend making the spices a little bit more if you are adding extra vegetables.

Homemade Chicken and Noodles by Rita Lindsey

4 boneless, skinless chicken breast
2 can (16 oz.) chicken broth
1 white onion, chopped
3 stalks celery, diced
2 carrots, diced
1/4 tsp. sage
1 tsp. thyme
2 bay leaves
1/8 tsp. poultry seasoning
1/4 tsp. dried parsley
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper
1 package (large) Reame’s Frozen Eggs Noodles (I used regular Martha Gootch too.)

Put chicken in large stockpot. Pour in 2 cans of chicken broth and add enough water to cover. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat. Skim foam from top. Add vegetables and seasonings. Simmer for 1 hour or until chicken is tender. Remove chicken and cool. Then, cube. Remove bay leaves from stock and increase heat. Add noodles and bring to a boil. Stir occasionally and cook until tender and stock thickens. Add chicken back.

Serves 4-6.

One response

  1. Pingback: Bread Bowl | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

