Mango Passion

I’m allergic to Panera Bread. I’m not sure what it is but I think it is some sort of grain. They also use this ingredient in Wheat Thins and IHOP omelets. Since I can’t eat the breads at Panera, I usually buy a drink when I have a meeting at Panera. They have this delicious mango smoothie on their menu.

While perusing through my recipe binders, I found a recipe I saved from a Hy-Vee magazine for a mango smoothie. So I decided to make it. I forgot to take into account, I don’t have a professional grade blender. And when you are used to enjoying lattes and smoothies at restaurants, you forget it takes a little more blending at home to properly mix your drink. Overall, this drink was OK but I thought the banana overpowered the mango.

Mango Smoothies

2 ripe mangoes, seeded, peeled and cubed
1 small ripe banana, peeled and cut into chunks
1 (8 oz.) carton Hy-Vee low-fat vanilla yogurt
1 c. peach or apricot Looza Nectar, chilled
1 T. honey
1 c. small ice cubes

Place mango, banana, yogurt, nectar, and honey in a blender container. Cover and blend until smooth. Gradually add ice, blending til almost smooth.

Nutrition facts: (Serves 3) 240 calories, 1.5 g. fat, 0.5g. saturated fat, 5 mg cholesterol, 3 g. fiber, 55 mg. sodium, 54 g. carbs, 29 g. sugar, 4 g. protein. Daily values: 60% vitamin A, 50% vitamin C, and 15% calcium.

Leave a Reply

