Mexican Casserole

My sister was telling me a story about how she heard on the news that the Dorito Loco Taco increased sales at Taco Bell by 435%. Talk about taco crazy. But let’s be honest, who doesn’t love Doritos. Do I buy like I did when I was a kid? No, not really. But when I saw this recipe for a Doritos Casserole, I knew I wanted to make it.

This recipe is from my Perfect 10 Cookbook. Author Debbie Kraft said she first tried it at her sister-in-law’s house. Debbie refused to leave until she had a copy of the recipe. I hope you enjoy it as well.

Doritos Casserole by Diane Krumm

1 lb. ground beef
1/2 c. onion
1 package of taco seasoning
1/2 tsp. salt
1 can of Cheedar Cheese soup
1 can of Cream of Mushroom soup
1 c. milk
1 can Ro-Tel tomatoes
1 medium bag of Nacho Doritos, crushed
1 1/2 c. Cheddar Cheese, grated

Brown hamburger with onions. Drain off grease. Add taco seasoning and salt. In a seperate bowl, combine soups, milk, and tomatoes and mix well. Grease a 2 qt. casserole dish. Layer Doritos, meat, and soup. Repeat one more time. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Remove from over and sprinkle with cheese. Bake another 10-15 minutes til cheese is melted. If desired, garnish with sour cream and ripe olives.

Recipe modications:

  • I didn’t have onions so I made it without.
  • I was also out of Ro-Tel so I substituted diced tomatoes.
  • I wasn’t sure what a medium bag of Doritos was so I used have a super bag (from Sam’s Club). I think you might also be able to use Baked Doritos.
  • The soup mixture is pretty soupy. I think you can use Fat-Free or Reduced Sodium soups without messing up the recipe thickness.
  • I used skim milk and fat free shredded cheddar cheese.
2 responses

  1. Wow, this Doritos Casserole recipe sounds delicious and your modifications work perfectly! If you are ever in need of any additional casserole recipes, definitely check out our Simply Delicious Meals site at samsclub.com/meals. Thanks for sharing and for shopping at Sam’s Club! – Ramona from Sam’s Club

  2. Pingback: Doritos Casserole | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

