Here’s the story about man and a woman

Today is my Grandma and Grandpa Fletcher’s 60th Wedding Anniversary. In their honor, I thought I would share the story of how they met and married. Both my grandparents’ fathers died when they were children. My Great-Grandma Kingston (Grandma Fletcher’s mother) was pregnant with her youngest child when her husband passed away. As a woman in her late 20s, she was widowed with six children. Her siblings offered to take the younger children but my Grandma Kingston refused to split up her family. And she never remarried. Grandma Kingston worked super hard to support her family in the 1930s when women didn’t really work outside the home. She took in laundry, cleaned homes, and ended up getting a job as the custodian for Wayne State College.

Grandma’s children were also hard workers. Many of them started babysitting and then working at the ice cream shop (pre-Dairy Queen days). I think my Grandma Fletcher was just 14 years old when she started working at the ice cream shop with some of her older siblings.

As I understand it, my Grandma Kingston required her children to take a sibling with them when they went on dates. My Grandpa Fletcher took out Grandma’s older sister Joyce on a date. And because of Grandma Kingston’s rule, my Grandma Fletcher was the chaperone for her older sister’s date roller skating. My Grandpa ended up liking my Grandma better than her older sister so he started dating her. They were just 14 and 16 years old at the time.  Two and a half years later Shirley Ann Kingston and Gene Edward Fletcher would be married on June 30, 1952 at the United Methodist Church in Wayne, NE.

The years that followed were filled with lots of hard work, a few tragedies, and some great successes. Grandpa’s hard work ethic and entrepreneurial spirit lead to the development of Fletcher Farm Service and Fletcher Rentals. They were also blessed with children: Kathy (my mother), William (Chris), Edward (Irene), and Thomas (Annette). They are also the proud grandparents to 10 grandchildren: Jeremy, Stephanie (my sister), Shannon, Amber (me), Rebekah, Daniel, Marilyn, Ashley, Cameron, and Sarah. The current tally on great-grandchildren is 12.

Although my grandparents can be very different, they do share loves for the arts, music, movies, education, volunteering, traveling, and having their family come together. Happy 60th Anniversary Grandma and Grandpa!

Since weddings make me think of cake, I thought I would share a recipe for individual cakes. I got this recipe from my mother’s best friend. It’s a great recipe because it is perfect for individuals or serving individual taste.

3-2-1 by Deb Proett

1 box of angel food cake mix (you must use this cake because the mix has eggs in it)
1 box of cake mix (any flavor)

Mix both cake mixes together in a gallon sized baggie. Spoon 3 tablespoons of cake mix and two tablespoons of water into a custard cup and stir together. Microwave on high for 1 minute. Serve with frosting or fruit if desired.

Leave a Reply

