Cool Summer Drinks

Is this summer heat ever going to break? You know it is bad when 95 feels cool. My sister and nephew came down the end of June. I thought it would be fun to go see Shakespeare in the Park. Unfortunately, the heat was so unbearable ended up going Cosmic Mini-golfing at the Great Mall of the Great Plains instead.

Today, I thought I would share a classic recipe from my dad’s sisters. I always thought this recipe was my aunt Joyce’s but just found out it is actually my aunt Linda’s recipe. The first time I ever remember it being made was for Christmas Eve at my Grandma Bourek’s house is Pilger. I remember the slushy looking yummy but I couldn’t have it because it had alcohol in it. Several years later, I would finally be old enough to enjoy this drink at family gatherings.

For my Wildtree/Purse Party/Jewelry Party fundraiser, I decided to make this beverage for all our guests. It was at that time I learned how easy it is to make. It makes a lot so make sure you have a ice cream bucket or a That-A-Bowl to freeze it in.

My Bourek side cousins and I at Jodi’s high school graduation in 2010.

Brandy Slush by Linda Vogel

1 can of frozen orange juice
1 can of frozen lemonade
9 cans of water
1 c. of sugar
2 c. of alcohol (My aunt said you can use any kind)
A 2-liter bottle of sour pop (7-up, Squirt, etc.)

Mix all ingredients together (except pop) in a ice cream bucket and stir. Freeze for at least 24 hours. Pull out freezer about 30-60 minutes before serving. Use an ice cream scoop to pull out. Add just a splash of pop to each glass and serve. Makes about 20 Solo cup sized drinks.

Recipe modifications:

  • My aunt said you have to use sugar or it doesn’t turn out right.
  • My aunt usually uses vodka. I made it with peach schnapps and I thought it was also good.
  • Remember alcohol doesn’t freeze so you have to have it in this recipe or everything will freeze and could explode all over your freezer.
3 responses

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Slushy | midwestsimple

  2. Pingback: Top 10 | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

