Breakfast Pizza

I’m sure you were all starting to wonder if I dropped off the grid or had given up writing this blog. I assure you, neither is the case. One of my favorite things to do it try new recipes and share them with others. Part of the reason I haven’t been writing for awhile is because work became quite consuming.

I work for the Greater Kansas City Affiliate of Susan G. Komen for the Cure. Our biggest fundraiser was last weekend. The 19th Annual Susan G. Komen Kansas City Race for the Cure is Kansas City’s largest race (nearly 21,000 participants) and one of the top fundraisers in the city (over $1 million). With a staff of eight, that means LOTS of extra hours this time of year. And even then, we still couldn’t pull it off without our amazing team of volunteers. Working 7 days a week at 12-14 hour days which often included writing new content, I barely had time to do laundry let alone the creative energy to write a blog. In fact, I think I bought Chipotle for lunch four times the week before Race because I wasn’t even allowing myself enough time to cook meals. I guess that is better than constant midday snacking on Twizzlers, M&Ms, and coffee. But I am very proud of the fact I still made it to the gym for 30 minutes of cardio every day!

Tonight, I am sharing a recipe from Wayne, NE County Cookbook – Roostin’ in Wayne 1884-2009. This is one of the new recipes I did manage to try one morning. I was able to throw it in the oven while getting ready. The original recipe calls for it to be baked on a pizza pan. I cooked it in a 9 x 9 dish so it took a little longer than the original recipe said. I hope you enjoy another crescent roll recipe.

Breakfast Pizza by Jan Liska

8 refrigerated crescent rolls
1 c. frozen hash browns
1 lb. browned/drained sausage
5 eggs
1/4 c. milk
1 c. shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 c. chopped green pepper, green onion, black olives, etc. (Optional)

Arrange rolls on pan (or stone) for crust. Top with potatoes and sausage. Mix eggs, milk, and pepper with a pinch of salt. Pour over potatoes and sausage. Sprinkle with cheese and additional toppings if desired. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

Note: It took an additional 10 minutes to cook the eggs cooking it in a 9 x 9 pan. I also made without the optional items.

Leave a Reply

