Homemade Meatballs

When I was in high school, I remember getting really tired of eating the same things. I started digging through my mother’s cookbooks when I ran across this recipe. It’s from my Great Grandma Reith’s church. It’s a tiny country church just outside Concord, NE. I found this recipe for meatballs that uses a sweet homemade barbeque sauce. The recipe was really large so I halved it. Even at that, you can still fill a 13 x 9 baking dish full of pretty good sized meatballs. Perhaps this recipe is the reason I like sweeter BBQ.

Meatballs
1 ½ pounds of ground beef
1 c. dry oatmeal
chopped onion (optional)
1/4 tsp. mild chili powder
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
salt and pepper
a small can of evaporated milk

Sauce
1 c. ketchup
3/4 c. brown sugar
1 T. liquid smoke
1/4 tsp. garlic powder

Line a 13 x 9 pan with foil. Mix all meatball ingredients together and form balls. Mix all sauce ingredients and spoon over meatballs. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

One response

  1. Pingback: Top 10 | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

