Raspberry Soup

I saw this recipe in one of my mom’s Taste of Home holiday cookbooks. I copied it because it looked super cute in tall shot glasses. When raspberries were on sale, I decided to give it try this summer. To my surprise, it tastes very similar to my recipe for strawberry soup. If you want to save some money because you don’t have access to a garden full of raspberries like my aunt Irene, try my Strawberry Soup recipe.

Chilled Raspberry Soup by Amy Wenger (Severance, CO)
1/3 c. cranberry juice
1/3 c. sugar
5 1/3 c. plus 12 fresh raspberries, divided
1 1/3 c. plus 2 T. sour cream, divided

In a blender, combine cranberry juice, sugar, 5 – 1/3 c. raspberries. Strain and discard seeds. Stir in 1-1/3 c. sour cream. Cover and refrigerate for at least two hours. To serve, pour 1/4 c. of soup into 12 cordial glasses. Top each with a raspberry and 1/2 tsp. sour cream.

Nutrition Facts (based on original recipe): 1 serving equals 111 calories, 5 g. fat (3 g. saturated fat), 19 mg. cholesterol, 10 mg. sodium, 14 g. carbs, 4 g. fiber, and 2 g. protein.

Notes:

  • I used diet cranberry juice and fat free sour cream.
  • You could use sugar substitute or replace the sour cream with plain fat-free/Greek yogurt.
One response

Leave a Reply

