Oreo Cupcakes

Cupcakes became huge a few years ago. I remember how excited I was when a place opened by my hotel. It was so sad to discover the cakes were simply white and chocolate. A place in Blue Springs called The Sweet Tooth makes flavorful cupcakes but I never have any reason to drive that far east. The place across the street from my apartment closed quickly because of weird hours. Although I love the 3 Girls Cupcake concept because it brings cupcake deliver a block away from my office on a regular basis, my absolute favorite cupcakes are a place called “In the Middle“. It’s located in downtown Lee’s Summit but I occasionally find myself out in that neck of the woods. Every cupcake has something in the middle. My personal favorite is this Toffee Caramel Crunch. Imagine my disappointment when I stopped by their store a couple of weeks ago and they were already sold out at 4PM.

During Race, I made these treats for my volunteers because they reminded me of “In the Middle”. I completely over estimated how many sweet treats my volunteers would eat in a two hour period. As a result, I shared them with my co-workers. My co-worker Stephanie just loved them. I promised I would share this recipe with her and all of you. I think it came from a Kraft Food & Family Magazine.

Mini Oreo Surprise Cupcakes
1 package of chocolate cake mix
1 package (8 oz.) cream cheese
1 egg
2 T. sugar
48 mini Oreos, divided
1 1/2 c. Cool Whip

Spray two muffin tins with non-stick spray. Prepare cake batter according to package. Mix cream cheese, egg, and sugar until well blended. Spoon half of cake mix into muffin cups. Top with 1 1/2 tsp. cream cheese mixture and 1 cookie in each cup. Top with remaining cake batter. Bake at 350 degrees for 19-22 minutes. Cool. Frost cupcakes with whipped topping and place a cookie on top. Refrigerate leftovers.

Leave a Reply

