Bronco Buster

Anything with the word “buster” isn’t good. But I’m fairly certain the Bronco Buster recipe was one of the worst meals my elementary cafeteria ever concocted. For those of you who didn’t attend Wisner Pilger Elementary School, this recipe was a slice of white bread topped with cold cheddar cheese and kidney beans. It was truly nasty. Perhaps this was one of the reasons I have avoided chili my enter life.

A couple of weeks ago, I was at my sister’s house. Her friend Susan brought chili. I remember Steph (also not a chili fan) saying that Susan made great chili. In an effort to incorporate more veggies into my diet, I thought I would give it a try. Kidney beans are really high in fiber and low in fat. Plus, my vegetarian friends swear if I start eating more beans I’ll be less hungry eating more veggies and less sugar/fat. I have to say, Susan’s chili was pretty good –  I even had seconds. So it got me thinking, maybe I should make a chili recipe.

As someone who has never saved a chili recipe, I decided to pull out one of my home-cooking recipe books. I decided to turn to the Perfect 10 Cookbook as this lady assembled only her best recipes. Although I have to say this recipe isn’t bad, it did make me realize one other thing, chili has a very Mexican food taste. I’m not a huge fan of Mexican restaurants and I think it is because I like sweet over bitter taste. It makes total sense because I love fruit but don’t love the taste of veggies.

So for those of you who love chili, I hope you enjoy this recipe. Although I think I liked the leftovers better after they sat in the fridge for a few days, I think I’m does cooking chili for a really long time.

Cook-Off Chili by Debbie Kraft
1 lb. ground beef
1/2 an onion chopped
1 garlic clove, minced
1 can Bush’s Chili Beans (medium)
1/2 can Ro-Tel tomatoes
1/2 c. chicken broth
1/2 c. beef broth
1 small can tomato sauce
2-3 T. chili powder (I used Wildtree)
1 tsp. ground cumin
1/4 tsp. oregano
1/8 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. garlic salt
dash of seasoned salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
3 oz. shredded Monterey Jack and Cheddar cheese

In a large Dutch oven pot, brown beef, onion, and garlic. Drain grease. Sprinkle meat with all seasonings. Add chili beans, Ro-tel, tomato sauce, and broths. Stir well and simmer for 30 minutes. Add cheese and simmer another 5 minutes. Serve with crackers or Frito’s.

3 responses

  1. So I can assume you won’t be coming to our Chili and Salsa Cook-Off next Friday night? It is amazing how many ways chili can be concocted! I’ve learned over the years tho, that chili tasting is kind of like mixing drinks-you’ll regret it in the morning!

Leave a Reply

