Scalloped Corn

When my mother gave me this recipe, I assumed it was my Grandma Fletcher’s recipe for the longest time. The reason, the recipe card said, “Mom’s Scalloped Corn”. I went to make Scalloped Corn with Grandma Fletcher, I noticed her recipe was different. That’s when I realized “Mom’s Scalloped Corn” was actually referring to my mother.

I seen several versions of this recipe over the years but this is still my favorite. I prefer to cook it in the oven because I like the crisper crust. Just remember to decrease cooking time if you half it and microwave it.

Mom’s Microwave Scalloped Corn by Kathy Bourek
4 T. flour
4 T. sugar
4 T. butter
2 tsp salt
4 eggs
2 cans of cream-style corn
soda crackers, crushed

Combine first four ingredients, then add eggs and mix well. Add corn and mix again. Put in a large greased baking dish (about 2 quart sized) and add crushed crackers. Cover with waxed paper and microwave on high for 20 minutes, turning and stirring halfway after 10 minutes.

If you bake in the oven, cook at 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes. If halved, only bake 20-30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

