Snickerdoodles

I have lots of fond memories as a child baking cookies with my mother. We usually made chocolate chip and snickerdoodles. What could be more fun as a kid that rolling cookie dough in colored sugar? Licking the beaters of course.

Christa Dubill posted the recipe from the Kansas City Star on her Facebook page about a month ago. Since it’s fall and I love pumpkin flavors, I knew I had to try this recipe. I quickly scribbled it down on a yellow sticky note. This recipe fell in the – I’m going to make that one immediately. I decided to bake it for National Boss Day and my co-workers loved it. The pumpkin makes them the softest/fluffiest snickerdoodles I have ever made.

Make it with your children or by yourself.

Pumpkin Snickerdoodles
1 stick of softened butter (8 oz.)
1 and 1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. canned pumpkin
1 tsp. cream of tartar
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. vanilla
1 large egg
3 c. and 2 T. flour

Sugar Mixture
1/3 c. sugar
1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp. cinnamon

Beat butter, sugar, and pumpkin. Add seasonings, vanilla, and egg. Beat again. Slowly add and stir flour. Chill for at least 1 hour. Scoop into balls and roll in sugar mixture. Bake at 350 degrees for 12-14 minutes.

One response

  1. Pingback: Nine Must Have Thanksgiving Recipes | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

