Chocolate Crinkles

Everybody has a signature dish they make. For me, these cookies are my signature dish. My mother used to make them when I was a kid and I loved them. When I was in college, my mother bought me this Family Circle Holiday Cookie Cookbook. The recipe in the book had chocolate chips – something my mother hadn’t put in hers. I have to say – I think my recipe is better then. Best when served warm from the oven – they melt in your mouth.

I used to bake Chocolate Crinkles for volunteer trainings when I worked at Hope House. I would always put the extras in the mailroom for the staff to enjoy. It took a while but my friend Trish finally figured out I was the one making these cookies. For the baby shower for her twins a few years ago, she asked me to make these cookies. I hope you love them as much as she does.

Chocolate CrinklesChocolate Crinkles by Amber Bourek
3/4 c. Butter, melted
1/2 c. Unsweeted Cocoa Powder
1 c. Sugar
2 c. Flour
1 tsp. Baking Powder
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1/2 tsp. Salt
2 Eggs
1 tsp. Vanilla
1/2 bag Chocolate Chips
Confectioner’s Sugar

In a large bowl, mix butter, cocoa, and sugar. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Use an electric mixer to add eggs and vanilla into chocolate mixture. Slowly add dry ingredients. Stir in chocolate chips. Refrigerate overnight. Roll into balls and roll in confectioner’s sugar. Bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Top 10 | midwestsimple

  2. Pingback: Festivus | midwestsimple

Leave a Reply

