English Toffee

While making a cookbook for my Grandma and Grandpa for Christmas (don’t tell them if you know them because they aren’t getting it til Christmas day), I asked my mother for my Uncle Ed’s Peanut Cluster recipe. My mother told me I also needed to include Grandma’s English Toffee recipe. I said, “I’ve never had Grandma’s English Toffee.” My mom said, “Oh yeah, she used to make it all the time.”

The other day I thought I would make this simple recipe. My sister said, “Good luck, English Toffee is hard to make.” I thought, that’s odd – I wonder when my sister made English Toffee. I started cooking it as realized Grandma instructions aren’t super clear. The sugar mixture was brown and boiling but didn’t really seem very thick. I figured it was hot enough to melt the chocolate though. I poured it out on the foil lined cookie sheet smoothed it out. I topped with chocolate bar squares and smoothed again with a cake knife. I refrigerated overnight and broke into pieces the next more. It’s really thin but that’s OK because this recipe is very rich. It will also make your hands a little greasy.

English ToffeeEnglish Toffee by Shirley Fletcher
1 c. sugar
½ pound butter (2 sticks of butter)
3 T. water
1 tsp. vanilla

Cook until hard crack, brown, and thick. Spread on cookie sheet and put 3 or 4 Hershey’s bars (I used 12 snack sized bars). Smooth it out. Sprinkle with pecans or nuts (optional). Cool. Once cool, break into pieces.

Notes:

  • My mother said you might only want to use half or three fourths of the cookie sheet. This will make your pieces a little thicker.
  • I used Country Crock so you might have different results with real butter.
  • I used my Paula Deen iron casserole dish. This works great for making things like fudge and English Toffee.
Leave a Reply

