Potato Cakes

I have to admit, I had never cooked potato cakes before. Last fall, I ran across a recipe for them which included corn and scallions plus sour cream topping. I thought it looked good. I quickly learned potato cakes can be more difficult to form than a crab cake. But if you use your spatula, you push it together once everything gets hot. I think the real success of this recipe is the sauce. I just put a light shrimorror on top and it was perfect.

Potato CakesLoaded Cheddar-Corn Potato Patties by Darlene Brenden
1 c. (8 oz.) sour cream
2 T. plus 1/3 c.  sliced green onions (scallions)
2 c. mashed potato flakes
1/3 c. cornmeal
1-3/4 tsp. garlic salt
1/2 tsp. paprika
2 c. milk
1 package (10 oz.) frozen corn, thawed
1 c. (4 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese

In a small bowl, mix sour cream and 2 T.  scallion and refridgerate. In a large bowl, mix the potato flakes, cornmeal, garlic salt and paprika. Add the milk, corn, cheese and remaining green onions; mix until blended. Shape into patties. Heat a large nonstick pan on medium and coat with cooking spray. Cook patties in batches for 2-3 minutes on each side or until golden brown. Serve with sauce.

Notes:

  • I halved the recipe and I still got about 20 corn cakes.
  • Since you aren’t cooking the sour cream, this is a situtation where you can use fat free sour cream.
Leave a Reply

